Subscribe Register Login

Human remains found in drainage pipe at west Little Rock park searched previously in missing teen case

Tuesday, May 22, 2018, 2:58 p.m.


Top Picks - Capture Arkansas

Results of Tuesday's elections in Three Rivers

By Jeremy Peppas

This article was published September 23, 2007 at 6:16 a.m.

— In Tuesday voting around the Three Rivers area, two millages were on the ballots along with a handful of contested school board races.

Only one millage passed, in Jackson County, the 7-mill increase for the Newport Special School District had 695 votes for to 626 against. The millage went from 30 mills in Newport to 37.

In the Quitman School District, a proposed 8.75-mill increase failed with 291 votes against and 224 for. The millage in Quitman will remain at 28.7 mills.

Of the contested school board races, only Calico Rock will have a runoff election, scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 9. In a three-way race Dr. Shad McClain, a chiropractor in Calico Rock, finished as the leading vote getter with 114, while Beth Whitfield Dubose had 94 votes. Incumbent Steven Lively was close behind with 91 votes, but did not make the runoff.

"I ran because I thought I could make a difference," Mc-Clain said. "I've got one, Caleb, in school and a 4-year-old who will be in school next year, so I have an interest in what goes on. Having them there, it makes a difference, at least to me."

Other results from the Three Rivers area:CLEBURNE COUNTY

In the Heber Springs School District, voters re-elected Charles "Chi-Chi" Tamburo with 558 votes to the school board. Challenger Joe Blankenship received 471 votes.

Victor Bailey won an atlarge position on the West Side School District's board with 254 votes. Challenger Hassel Long received 207 votes.


In the Cedar Ridge School District, Jerry Henderson won the race for the Zone 4 school board position with 26 votes. Ricky Womack finished with 17 votes.

In the Midland School District, seven were elected from 15 possible candidates. The leading vote getter was Debbie Frazier with 290 votes, while Bobby Rhew finished with 254 votes and Robert Beel had 223.

Also elected were Connie Blevins, 188; James Grider, 185; Bryson Wood, 179, and Clint McCance, 175.

Eight candidates - Tanya Gay, 151; Mark Biram, 147; Roger Hook, 132; Janie Garland, 75; Lehman Stephens, 73; Danny Beaver, 70; Linda Whitener, 63 and Daniel Smith, 51- did not make the cut.


In the Calico Rock School District, a run-off will happen Tuesday, Oct. 9, between Shad McClain and Beth Whitfield Dubose.


In the Newport Special School District, a 7-mill increase was passed.


In the Cabot School District, Jimmy Coy won the race for the Position 3 seat with 183 votes. Arthur Evans finished with 44. PULASKI COUNTY

In the Pulaski County Special School District, Bill Vasquez defeated incumbentJames Bolden with 430 votes. Bolden had 335 votes.


In the Bald Knob School District, Phillip Moore won a three-way race for school board with 202 votes. Herman Kyle had 121, while Kevin Western finished with 90 votes.

In the Beebe School District, Brenda McKown won the race with 270 votes. Chris Goss had 162 votes in defeat.


In the Augusta School District, Buddy Porter won the race for the Zone 3 seat on the school board with 53 votes. Charlotte Stovall finished with 32 votes.

- jpeppas@

Three Rivers, Pages 118 on 09/23/2007






Top Picks - Capture Arkansas
Arkansas Online