Subscribe Register Login

Monday, July 28, 2014, 7:28 a.m.
Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal

State senators elect GOP's Lamoureux as new leader

By The Associated Press

This article was published November 8, 2012 at 12:59 p.m.

The Arkansas Senate has elected Republican Sen. Michael Lamoureux as its next president after the GOP won control of the chamber for the first time since Reconstruction.

Lamoureux was elected Thursday without any opposition on a voice vote. Lamoureux will replace Senate President Paul Bookout, D-Jonesboro.

The Senate had previously elected Democratic Sen. Larry Teague as its next president late last year, but opened up nominations Thursday after Tuesday’s election results. Lamoureux was the only candidate running.

Republicans will hold 21 of the Senate’s 35 seats.

Senators also plan to make committee assignments and draw for seniority. They also will draw to decide which members serve two-year terms and which will serve four-year terms after redistricting.

Meanwhile, Republicans hold a 50-48-1 edge in the House with one race still pending.

Comments on: State senators elect GOP's Lamoureux as new leader

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.


  • Library assistant

    library assistant ii-Youth ProgrammerFull-time public servic...

  • Cdl drivers

    Tri National Inc. is Hiring...Sign on BonusTeams /$10,000 - ...

  • Firefighter exam

    project engineer City of Conway, ArkansasStreet & Engineerin...

  • Material handlers

    Ready? Set? go! we take industrial staffing seriously. $10-...
    Little Rock, AR

  • Eye clinic

    NLR EYE clinic position includes clerical with other respons...

Search 891 jobs >

Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal
Arkansas Online