Subscribe Register Login

Arkansas puts 2nd inmate to death in 1st double execution in U.S. since 2000

Monday, April 24, 2017, 11:45 p.m.


Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal

Five finalists announced for Broyles Award

By David Harten

This article was published November 26, 2012 at 4:07 p.m.

— Five finalists for the Broyles Award were announced Monday afternoon in a news release from the awards committee.

The award is given annually to the top assistant coach in college football.

The finalists are: Derek Mason of Stanford, Dan Quinn of Florida, Kliff Kingsbury of Texas A&M, Mike Bobo of Georgia and Bob Diaco of Notre Dame.

The list consists of three defensive coordinators (Mason, Diaco and Quinn) and two offensive coordinators (Bobo and Kingsbury).

Mason has led a Cardinal defense that has surrendered 16.9 points per game and won the Pac-12 North Division with a 10-2 overall record. At Florida, Quinn has anchored a Gator defense that gave up 12.9 points per game and finished second in the SEC East Division. Meanwhile, Diaco's Fighting Irish are undefeated and have held opponents to 10.3 points per game, led by Heisman Trophy candidate Manti Te'o.

On the offensive side of the ball, Kingsbury has the Aggies averaging an SEC-leading 44.8 points per game and has helped quarterback Johnny Manziel become the first freshman in NCAA history to throw for 3,000 yards and run for 1,000 as well.

Bobo's Bulldog offense has averaged 38 points per game, led by quarterback Aaron Murray.

The award ceremony is Dec. 4 at The Peabody Hotel in Little Rock.


Comments on: Five finalists announced for Broyles Award

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.





Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal
Arkansas Online