Subscribe Register Login

Saturday, April 19, 2014, 1:54 a.m.
Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal

U.S. secretary declares disaster in 29 Arkansas counties

By The Associated Press

This article was published December 12, 2013 at 12:49 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK — U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has made disaster declarations for farmers in 29 Arkansas counties affected by this year's drought conditions and flooding.

Gov. Mike Beebe's office announced the declarations Thursday. The governor's office says disaster declarations due to earlier drought conditions have been issued for in Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Phillips, Prairie, Pulaski and Union counties.

Additionally, a declaration providing flood-related aid was issued for Phillips, Crittenden and Lee counties in eastern Arkansas.

Farmers who feel they may qualify for federal aid should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.

Comments on: U.S. secretary declares disaster in 29 Arkansas counties

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.


Search 761 jobs >

Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal
Arkansas Online