Subscribe Register Login

Tuesday, October 25, 2016, 10:55 a.m.
Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal

Beebe requests disaster declaration for 12 Arkansas counties

By David Harten

This article was published June 18, 2013 at 4:48 p.m.

Gov. Mike Beebe has asked for federal assistance in 12 Arkansas counties following recent storms.

Beebe requested a major disaster declaration from President Barack Obama after a weather system that included tornadoes, high winds and heavy rain hit parts of the state beginning May 30, according to a news release from the governor's office. Five people were killed and 18 were injured in the storms.

State and federal assessments totaled the storm damage at $10 million, according to the release.

If granted, the declaration would deem the state eligible for federal aid to help with the redevelopment and recovery of the affected areas.

The counties that would receive assistance include Cleburne, Cross, Garland, Independence, Montgomery, Poinsett, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Van Buren and Woodruff.


Comments on: Beebe requests disaster declaration for 12 Arkansas counties

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.



Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal
Arkansas Online