Subscribe Register Login

Saturday, July 04, 2015, 7:14 p.m.
Top Picks - Capture Arkansas

3 Arkansas counties issue burn bans due to fire danger

By The Associated Press

This article was published January 18, 2014 at 4:14 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK — Burn bans are in place in three north-central Arkansas counties and the National Weather Service has issued Red Flag fire warnings for three other counties in west-central Arkansas.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission reports burn bans in Van Buren, Stone and Independence counties while the weather service's Red Flag warnings are in effect in Crawford, Sebastian and Franklin counties.

The weather service says dangerous fire weather conditions are ongoing and include strong wind gusts of 30 to 40 miles per hour on Saturday and 20 to 35 miles per hour on Sunday in addition to low humidity readings of 14 to 20 percent.

Comments on: 3 Arkansas counties issue burn bans due to fire danger

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.


Top Picks - Capture Arkansas
Arkansas Online