Subscribe Register Login

Sunday, October 23, 2016, 7:08 a.m.
Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal

Arkansas delegation supports disaster request

By The Associated Press

This article was published May 12, 2014 at 1:00 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK — The six members of Arkansas' congressional delegation have written a letter to President Barack Obama and the Federal Emergency Management Agency in support of a disaster declaration request from Gov. Mike Beebe.

Sens. Mark Pryor and John Boozman and Reps. Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin, Steve Womack and Tom Cotton joined in signing the letter sent Monday. Pryor is a Democrat, and the other members of the delegation are Republicans.

Beebe has asked that Clay, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Sharp, Faulkner and White counties be added to the disaster declaration as a result of April 27 storms that produced a tornado blamed for 16 deaths.

Pulaski, Faulkner, Randolph and White counties were previously declared disaster areas.


Comments on: Arkansas delegation supports disaster request

To report abuse or misuse of this area please hit the "Suggest Removal" link in the comment to alert our online managers. Read our Terms of Use policy.

Subscribe Register Login

You must login to make comments.



Top Picks - Arkansas Daily Deal
Arkansas Online