Today's Paper Latest Coronavirus Cooking The Article Families Core Values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

9 healthy schools grants awarded in Arkansas

by The Associated Press | July 8, 2010 at 9:30 a.m.

— The state has awarded grants to nine Arkansas schools to help promote health, wellness and academic achievement.

The grants are paid for by the state’s tobacco tax, which was increased in 2009.

The Arkansas Department of Education says the grants will be used for schools to promote health programs, establish wellness centers and develop mental health programs.

Schools receiving the grants are: the Robert F. Morehead Middle School in the Dollarway School District, the Union Academy of Health and Wellness in El Dorado, The Owl Creek School in Fayetteville, Gurdon High School, Lavaca Middle School, Lincoln Elementary School, Eagle Heights Elementary School in Harrison, Paragould High School and Jones Elementary School in Springdale.


Sponsor Content