Today's Paper Latest stories 🏈ASU live Obits Traffic Wally Hall Newsletters Weather Puzzles + games

— Five finalists for the Broyles Award were announced Monday afternoon in a news release from the awards committee.

The award is given annually to the top assistant coach in college football.

The finalists are: Derek Mason of Stanford, Dan Quinn of Florida, Kliff Kingsbury of Texas A&M, Mike Bobo of Georgia and Bob Diaco of Notre Dame.

The list consists of three defensive coordinators (Mason, Diaco and Quinn) and two offensive coordinators (Bobo and Kingsbury).

Mason has led a Cardinal defense that has surrendered 16.9 points per game and won the Pac-12 North Division with a 10-2 overall record. At Florida, Quinn has anchored a Gator defense that gave up 12.9 points per game and finished second in the SEC East Division. Meanwhile, Diaco's Fighting Irish are undefeated and have held opponents to 10.3 points per game, led by Heisman Trophy candidate Manti Te'o.

On the offensive side of the ball, Kingsbury has the Aggies averaging an SEC-leading 44.8 points per game and has helped quarterback Johnny Manziel become the first freshman in NCAA history to throw for 3,000 yards and run for 1,000 as well.

Bobo's Bulldog offense has averaged 38 points per game, led by quarterback Aaron Murray.

The award ceremony is Dec. 4 at The Peabody Hotel in Little Rock.

Sponsor Content


You must be signed in to post comments