Today's Paper Latest stories Obits Newsletters Traffic Weather Puzzles/games

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Four finalists have been named in the University of Memphis' search for a new president, including University of Arkansas provost Sharon Gaber.

The Commercial Appeal reported that the Tennessee Board of Regents selected M. David Rudd, provost at the University of Memphis; George Hynd, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at the College of Charleston; Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at UA; and Guy Bailey, former president and a current professor at the University of Alabama.

The candidate who's chosen will replace interim president R. Brad Martin, who has been serving since the June 30 retirement of Shirley Raines. The search process at the U of M began in November when the Regents announced the 24-member presidential search advisory committee.

The finalists will visit the university campus March 16 to 25 for interviews with the search advisory committee and for campus forums among students.

"I believe everyone on the committee will agree that we had an impressive and well qualified pool of candidates from which to select these finalists," said Greg Duckett, chairman of the search committee and senior vice president and corporate counsel with Baptist Memorial Health Care System.

Rudd, 53, was named provost at the university in December 2012, replacing longtime provost Ralph Faudree.

Hynd, 66, has been provost at the College of Charleston since January 2010.

Gaber, 50, joined UA as provost in May 2009. She also is a professor of sociology.

Bailey, 63, became president of the University of Alabama in September 2012, but resigned shortly after because of his wife's health. She died in September 2013. He is currently a tenured professor at the university.

Members of the search committee will participate in the campus meetings and gather feedback from constituent groups. Then Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor John Morgan will hear from committee members and make the final selection for recommendation to the Board of Regents.

Sponsor Content


You must be signed in to post comments
  • RBBrittain
    March 8, 2014 at 3:08 p.m.

    Shouldn't it be the chancellor instead? Maybe she can't stand David Gearhart's practice of leaving his underlings holding the bag for HIS overspending...