Today's Paper Latest Elections Coronavirus 🔵 Covid Classroom Cooking Families Core values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive
story.lead_photo.caption Kristin Seaton, left, and Jennifer Rambo fill out an application for a marriage license in Eureka Springs on Saturday. The two women are the first same-sex couple to be granted a marriage license in the state of Arkansas. ( Anthony Reyes)

— Two women from Fort Smith became the first same-sex couple in Arkansas ever to receive a marriage license.

Kristin Seaton, 27, and Jennifer Rambo, 26, got the license at about 10 a.m. Saturday at the Carroll County courthouse in Eureka Springs, which normally issues marriage licenses for four hours every Saturday.

Pulaski County Circuit Judge Chris Piazza struck down Arkansas' ban on same-sex marriages late Friday. The courthouse in Eureka Springs is the only one in Arkansas that is open on Saturday.

Couples traveled from as far away as Texas and Oklahoma to get licenses Saturday in Eureka Springs.

Seaton and Rambo arrived at 2:30 a.m. and slept in their car on the street. They hurried to get in line first at 5 a.m. when they saw another couple heading toward the door of the courthouse.

A crowd of about 100 was in line by 9 a.m.

The first deputy county clerk who opened the office Saturday closed it shortly afterwards saying she had no authority to issue licenses to same-sex couples.

A second deputy county clerk arrived about 20 minutes later and issued the first license to a same-sex couple.


Sponsor Content

Archived Comments

  • MuleriderRob
    May 10, 2014 at 10:36 a.m.

    Don't run for statewide office Judge Plazza!

  • RBBrittain
    May 10, 2014 at 11:01 a.m.

    @MuleriderRob: If Judge Piazza were gonna run for statewide office he would have done so by now; he's been a judge since 1990, and was prosecutor before that. (He's unopposed for another 6-year term on the May 20 ballot, which is the general election for nonpartisan judges and, starting this year, prosecutors.) He has plenty of experience in high-profile cases like term limits (partly reversed by Arkansas Supreme Court, but the part they upheld survived a SCOTUS appeal) & unmarried adoption (upheld by ASC on state-only grounds, not appealable to SCOTUS); this case will be just another blip on the radar for him.

  • yungs
    May 10, 2014 at 12:24 p.m.

    This goes against the laws of God and the wishes of the population in our state. We will all suffer the consequences for our actions.

  • solarmanj
    May 10, 2014 at 12:33 p.m.

    If you really think this is against God's law, read the bible. Here are some things banned by God in Leviticus.

    1. Burning any yeast or honey in offerings to God (2:11)

    2. Failing to include salt in offerings to God (2:13)

    3. Eating fat (3:17)

    4. Eating blood (3:17)

    5. Failing to testify against any wrongdoing you’ve witnessed (5:1)

    6. Failing to testify against any wrongdoing you’ve been told about (5:1)

    7. Touching an unclean animal (5:2)

    8. Carelessly making an oath (5:4)

    9. Deceiving a neighbour about something trusted to them (6:2)

    10. Finding lost property and lying about it (6:3)

    11. Bringing unauthorised fire before God (10:1)

    12. Letting your hair become unkempt (10:6)

    13. Tearing your clothes (10:6)

    14. Drinking alcohol in holy places (bit of a problem for Catholics, this ‘un) (10:9)

    15. Eating an animal which doesn’t both chew cud and has a divided hoof (cf: camel, rabbit, pig) (11:4-7)

    16. Touching the carcass of any of the above (problems here for rugby) (11:8)

    17. Eating – or touching the carcass of – any seafood without fins or scales (11:10-12)

    18. Eating – or touching the carcass of - eagle, the vulture, the black vulture, the red kite, any kind of black kite, any kind of raven, the horned owl, the screech owl, the gull, any kind of hawk, the little owl, the cormorant, the great owl, the white owl, the desert owl, the osprey, the stork, any kind of heron, the hoopoe and the bat. (11:13-19)

    19. Eating – or touching the carcass of – flying insects with four legs, unless those legs are jointed (11:20-22)

    20. Eating any animal which walks on all four and has paws (good news for cats) (11:27)

    21. Eating – or touching the carcass of – the weasel, the rat, any kind of great lizard, the gecko, the monitor lizard, the wall lizard, the skink and the chameleon (11:29)

    22. Eating – or touching the carcass of – any creature which crawls on many legs, or its belly (11:41-42)

    23. Going to church within 33 days after giving birth to a boy (12:4)

    24. Going to church within 66 days after giving birth to a girl (12:5)

    25. Having sex with your mother (18:7)

    26. Having sex with your father’s wife (18:8)

    27. Having sex with your sister (18:9)

    28. Having sex with your granddaughter (18:10)

    29. Having sex with your half-sister (18:11)

    30. Having sex with your biological aunt (18:12-13)

    31. Having sex with your uncle’s wife (18:14)

    32. Having sex with your daughter-in-law (18:15)

    33. Having sex with your sister-in-law (18:16)

    34. Having sex with a woman and also having sex with her daughter or granddaughter (bad news for Alan Clark) (18:17)

    35. Marrying your wife’s sister while your wife still lives (18:18)

    36. Having sex with a woman during her period (18:19)

  • Popsmith
    May 10, 2014 at 12:40 p.m.

    How sad

  • markkrain
    May 10, 2014 at 12:59 p.m.

    Great news! We are doing the right thing. We are joining the states that are living in the 21st century. We should be giving people their rights, not denying them their rights based on our prejudices against their gender orientations. Let us celebrate the rights of those who have different orientations than we do, and not try to suppress them.

  • 23cal
    May 10, 2014 at 1:30 p.m.

    Yung says, "This goes against the laws of God and the wishes of the population in our state. We will all suffer the consequences for our actions."
    Let me get this straight.....America isn't going to be punished for condoning slavery, for the genocide of native Americans, for raping the environment, and things of that nature, but we are going to "suffer the consequences for our actions" because we grant the equal right of civil marriage to this demographic of our citizens?
    I think your god has a messed up sense of priorities, if you are correct.
    Threats for the gullible and the paranoid is the stock in trade of some people.

  • Dondi
    May 10, 2014 at 1:51 p.m.

    I bet the tea baggers didn't see this coming.

  • Dontcallmenames
    May 10, 2014 at 1:52 p.m.

    One of the main reasons why the State bestows numerous benefits on marriage is that by its very nature and design, marriage provides the normal conditions for a stable, affectionate, and moral atmosphere that is beneficial to the upbringing of children—all fruit of the mutual affection of the parents. This aids in perpetuating the nation and strengthening society, an evident interest of the State.

    Homosexual “marriage” does not provide such conditions. Its primary purpose, objectively speaking, is the personal gratification of two individuals whose union is sterile by nature. It is not entitled, therefore, to the protection the State extends to true marriage.

  • Populist
    May 10, 2014 at 2:10 p.m.


    Gay people can be good parents as can sterile people.