Some counties hold back same-sex licenses

Some Arkansas counties are postponing the issuance of marriage licenses for same-sex couples despite a ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court legalizing such unions.

Grant County Chief Deputy Clerk Linda McMaster said officials won't issue the licenses without direction from Clerk Carol Ewing, who was out of the office Friday. McMaster said Ewing could be back by Monday. McMaster said no gay couples had sought licenses in the Sheridan area Friday morning.

Boone County Clerk Crystal Graddy said same-sex couples near Harrison will also likely have to wait until Monday to request licenses. She said county officials are working to update the license forms with gender-neutral terms and that the updated paperwork should be ready next week.

Graddy said Friday morning that no gay couples had inquired about a license in Harrison, either.

Clerks in Saline and Benton counties said officials are prepared to issue same-sex marriage licenses, but no couples have requested any yet.

Marriage licenses were issued Friday to same-sex couples in Pulaski, Faulkner, Carroll, Washington and Pope counties.


Information for this article was contributed by The Associated Press and by Sara Janak of Arkansas Online.