Today's Paper Latest stories 2018 election city/county races Most commented Obits Traffic Newsletters Weather Puzzles + games
story.lead_photo.caption Courtesy photo Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus is pleased to announce its 2017 Chancellor's Leadership Cabinet. Established in 2009, CLC is student organization assisting with communication efforts among all Arkansas Tech-Ozark prospective and current students, alumni and friends. By working with the campus administration, CLC members advance Arkansas Tech-Ozark's mission through outreach and support of the communities it serves as part of the Tech family. This year's CLC is made up of the following students: Deisy Becker (front left) of Ozark, Human Services; Miranda Thomas of Coal Hill, General Studies; Melissa Maestas of Ozark, Human Services; Terra Fitch of Fort Smith, Health Information Technology; Brooklyn Ree of Ozark, Law Enforcement; Karen Olsen of Fort Smith, General Studies; and Sydney Simmons of Russellville, Paramedic/Emergency Services; and Alicia Thomas (back left) of Central City, Nursing; Jacob Veach of Fort Smith, General Studies; Sean Stamm of Ozark, General Studies; Austin Gant of Pottsville, Law Enforcement; and Andrew Komp of Subiaco, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration.

National Science Bowl

A team from Fayetteville High School took first place in the National Science Bowl regional competition held Jan. 28 at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith. The winning team included Albert Xu, Ryan Kim, Steven Du, Kyle Jiang and Fletcher Hall, coached by Marc Reif. The Fayetteville team advances to the national competition scheduled for April in Washington, D.C.

Russellville High School placed second, with team members Jeremy Collins, Brant Collins, Chris Schaubroeck, Tyler Tracy and Phillip Takach, coached by Paul Grey.

Haas Hall Academy placed third, with team members Robert Prettyman, Commor Fritsch, Hamaad Mehal, Sarah Sadiq and Sailesh Sirigineedi, coached by Chad Thurman.

The National Science Bowl is organized through the U.S. Department of Energy and is a nationwide academic competition that tests students' knowledge in all areas of science.

UA Community College

Natalie Gregory of Springdale received an associate's degree in registered nursing from University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton.

University of Oklahoma

The University of Oklahoma in Norman named the following students to its fall 2016 honor roll.

In most colleges, students must earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average to be included on the honor roll. Students in the College of Architecture are recognized with a 3.3 or better, and students in the College of Engineering are recognized with a 3.0 or better. The names of students who earned a 4.0 grade-point average also are president honor roll designates and are indicated by an asterisk.

Ryan Dalton, Cecily Greene, Lakin Hall, Helen Hammond, Emily Norris, Gillian Wall, Sairi Zhang of Bentonvile; Chandler Hawkins of Cave Springs; Monica Ness of Farmington; Caroline Young, Kaley Hassell of Fayetteville; Andrew Greer, Merit Jennings, Diego Olivarez of Fort Smith; Elena Milstead, Emily Milstead of New Blaine; Dillon Chinchar, John Dastugue, Morgan Stoecklein of Rogers; Matthew Farrar of Rudy; Jackson Kirby of Siloam Springs; and Madison Cervantes* of Van Buren.


Hilda X. Flores Soto has been named the 2017 Elizabeth J. Pruet internship recipient by the Arkansas Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts (ACNMWA).

Named after one of the Arkansas committee's outstanding founding board members, the internship is awarded each year to a female student attending an Arkansas university or college whose program of study is applicable to the advancement of Arkansas fine arts or art history. The recipient receives a $3,000 stipend, to use for her own project during the summer.

Flores is a junior at the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith, majoring in animation technology with a minor in studio art. In her studies, she uses watercolor illustrations and three-dimension modeling software to mix computer graphics with her art.

WisconsinGreen Bay

Sandra Graf of Rogers received academic highest honors from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay for the fall 2016 semester, with a 4.0 grade point average.

Fort Hays State University

Sheena Leann Trahern of Bentonville graduated from Fort Hays (Kan.) State University in the fall 2016 semester with a master of science degree in nursing education.

Subiaco Academy

Shadow Days for parents and prospective students are scheduled for March 10 and April 7 at Subiaco Academy, a Catholic, college preparatory boarding school for boys in western Arkansas.

The academy hosts Shadow Day for young men in grades 6-10 wanting to visit and explore the school's junior and senior high programs. Activities will include shadowing classes, campus tours and the placement exam. Prospective boarding students have the opportunity to spend Thursday night before Shadow Day in one of the college-like residence halls.

Information: (800) 364-7824,

University of Central Arkansas

The University of Central Arkansas in Conway held fall 2016 commencement Dec. 10 in the Jeff Farris Health and Physical Education Center on the campus. Local graduates included:

Tollie Lancaster, master of arts in teaching; Trinady Ledbetter, bachelor of business administration; Kenton Chi-Yan Lee, bachelor of science; Jared Middleton, master of arts in teaching; Justin Stafford, bachelor of science, all of Fayetteville. Jennifer Huffmaster, master of science; Kiera Seideman, bachelor of science, both of Lincoln. Hayden McDonald, bachelor of science; Bethany Allen, bachelor of science in education; Angelina Bassett, educational specialist; Ashley Crismon, bachelor of science; Jasmine Gonzalez, bachelor of science in education; Jeffrey Homstad, bachelor of science; Jennifer Liles, master of science in nursing; Carol Piatkowski, master of science in nursing, all of Springdale. Kerith-Ann Chism, bachelor of music, of West Fork.

NAN Our Town on 02/23/2017

Print Headline: School News

Sponsor Content


You must be signed in to post comments