Today's Paper Latest stories 2018 election city/county races Most commented Obits Traffic Newsletters Weather Puzzles + games

FAYETTEVILLE -- A mix of familiar faces and some new faces will be part of the School District's administrative team for the 2017-18 school year.

The School Board on Thursday unanimously approved six recommendations for district-level positions.

School meal prices

Fayetteville School Board members unanimously approved a bump in the price for student breakfasts and lunches for the 2017-18 school year. Lunches for students who pay the full price will increase 10 cents to $2.75 for elementary schools and 5 cents to $2.95 for middle, junior high and high schools. Breakfast prices will increase 5 cents to $1.75 for all schools.

Source: Staff Report

Mark Oesterle and Michelle Hayward previously were announced as Superintendent Matthew Wendt's recommendations for two executive director positions to work under Associate Superintendent Stephen Weber in the district's division of teaching and learning. The division next school year will be housed in the former Happy Hollow Elementary School.

Oesterle, who this year is director of professional development, federal programs and English-as-a-second-language, will be executive director of secondary education. Secondary education encompasses Ramay and Woodland junior high schools, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville Virtual Academy, the Agee Lierly Life Preparation Services Campus, adult education and concurrent credit.

Oesterle looks forward to getting to know the staffs of each of the schools. He's interested in continuing to grow the district's options for concurrent credit courses, courses earning students credit toward high school and college diplomas, and for career and technical education.

"We recognize one path and one pathway to graduation does not fit everyone," Oesterle said. "No matter what path, Fayetteville is going to be able to provide it and provide it at a quality level."

Hayward, McNair Middle School principal, will be executive director of elementary and middle level education. Her new role will put her working alongside the district's elementary and middle school principals, she said.

"I get to be part of the big picture," she said.

A system will be put in place to help all schools improve while maintaining the personality and culture that has developed at each campus, she said.

Both Oesterle and Hayward will focus on supporting, supervising and evaluating principals; providing leadership for the district's program directors and will be involved in curriculum design, review and implementation.

Kristen Scott, Root Elementary School, will succeed Oesterle as the new director of federal programs.

Chris Lawson will join the district as its first general counsel, Wendt announced. Lawson is a partner with Friday, Eldredge and Clark, and has been the attorney for the School Board.

Wendt also announced Eric Hatch as director of information services and technology and Karm Prock as director of gifted and talented and Advanced Placement programs.

Prock has been the gifted and talented coordinator for Searcy School District since 2013 and also spent 15 years as the gifted and talented specialist for the Wilbur Mills Educational Cooperative in Beebe. She's president of Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education.

Hatch has been director of technology for Springdale School District for 12 years. Hatch has enjoyed working for Springdale but wanted a new challenge, he said. His initial focus will be getting to know the Fayetteville staff and looking at the needs of each campus.

"Exciting changes are happening," Hatch said of Fayetteville. "It's exciting to be a part of that."

Hatch also is an adjunct instructor and executive in-residence for the Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas. He has experience as a network administrator at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Department of Pediatrics in Little Rock.

NW News on 05/26/2017

Print Headline: Wendt announces new district hires

Sponsor Content


You must be signed in to post comments