Today's Paper Search Latest Coronavirus Elections Core values App Listen Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

Eighty-eight incoming freshmen have been selected as Honors College fellows at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

Of that number, 79 are Arkansans.

Together, the incoming students had a grade-point average of 4.19 and an average composite ACT college-entrance exam score of 33.83.

UA established its Honors College in 2002, made possible by using part of the Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation's $300 million gift to the university that year.

The Honors College awards fellowships for up to 90 freshmen each year. The fellowships provide $70,000 per student over four years. The program also awards more than $1 million in undergraduate research and study abroad grants each year. The fellowship includes the costs of tuition and fees, books, and room and board, giving Honors College students financial freedom to pursue original research and study abroad. The fellowship funds can be combined with other scholarships and grants.

To be eligible to apply, students must score at least a 32 on the ACT and have a minimum 3.8 grade-point average in high school. Honors College administrators and faculty review each student's application, looking for evidence of intellectual curiosity, leadership potential and community involvement. The selection process includes a writing test and a campus interview for finalists in early March.

The Honors College Fellows Class of 2022, with the students' high schools and hometowns, are:

• Leen Abochale, Little Rock Central High School, Little Rock.

• Ashtyn Adams, Van Buren High School, Van Buren.

• Benjamin Allen, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs, Bella Vista.

• Teia Anderson, Russellville High School, Russellville.

• Hannah Baker, Marshall High School, Marshall.

• Tayden Barretto, Life Way Christian School, Centerton.

• Walker Bartels, Valley View High School, Jonesboro.

• Braden Bateman, County Line High School, Ratcliff.

• Kyle Burks, Har-Ber High School, Springdale.

• Savannah Busch, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Meghana Chithirala, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• Benjamin Cloud, Grove High School, Jay, Okla.

• Sienna Contreras, Haas Hall Academy, Fayetteville.

• Elizabeth Dominguez, Har-Ber High School, Springdale.

• James Donlon, White Station High School, Memphis.

• Andrew Elkins, Rogers High School, Lowell.

• Duru Erkan, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Regan Freeman, Russellville High School, Russellville.

• Mary Fuhrman, Cabot High School, Cabot.

• Michael Fuhrman, Bryant High School, Benton.

• Kristen Gates, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Gage Gattis, County Line High School, Charleston.

• Ellen Gray, Greenwood High School, Greenwood.

• Nikki Gross, Salem High School, Salem.

• William Hadley, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Ryan Harra, Olathe North High School, Olathe, Kan.

• Jarrett Hoover, Conway High School, Conway.

• Richard Hopwood, Haas Hall Academy, Springdale.

• Madison Huckaby, C.E. Byrd High School, Shreveport

• Jacob Jackson, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs, Benton.

• Salem Jackson, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• Noah James, Booker T. Washington High School, Tulsa.

• Logan Jennings, Little Rock Central High School, Little Rock.

• Lindsey Jetton, Russellville High School, Russellville.

• William Jones, Veritas Press Scholars Academy, Sherwood.

• Mandeep Kaur, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• Anthony Kopek, Springdale High School, Fayetteville.

• Avery Lang, Siloam Springs High School, Siloam Springs.

• Baylie Lanier, Prairie Grove High School, Prairie Grove.

• Zachary Lewandowski, Har-Ber High School, Springdale.

• Seo Yun Lim, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Katie Loethen, Haas Hall Academy, Springdale.

• Luke Long, Lakeside High School, Hot Springs.

• Spencer Loper, Shiloh Christian High School, Springdale.

• Carolyn Loudermilk, Eureka Springs High School, Eureka Springs.

• Ricardo Martinez, Northside High School, Fort Smith.

• Davin Means, Wynne High School, Wynne.

• Bilal Momand, Southside High School, Fort Smith.

• Jack Murphy, McGehee High School, McGehee.

• Stephanie Nguyen, Southside High School, Fort Smith.

• Sydney Nichols, Saint Mary's Episcopal School, Marion.

• Dawson Oakley, Bryant High School, Benton.

• Sara Ottinger, Texas High School, Texarkana.

• Trevor Paulsen, Harrisburg High School, Harrisburg.

• Aubin Payne, Haas Hall Academy, Fayetteville.

• Dania Rahal, Southside High School, Fort Smith.

• Siddhant Ramesh, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• John Christopher Rothwell, Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville.

• Tanner Ruth, Conway High School, Conway.

• Kyle Sadler, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs, Little Rock.

• Amy Schexnayder, Little Rock Central, Little Rock.

• Wesley Schwartz, Southside High School, Fort Smith.

• Devin Sha, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs, Stuttgart.

• Danielle Shaver, Houston High School, Collierville, Tenn.

• Sailesh Sirigineedi, Haas Hall Academy, Rogers.

• Swetha Sirigineedi, Haas Hall Academy, Rogers.

• Jordan Smith, Monticello High School, Monticello.

• Michala Smith, Lake Hamilton High School, Hot Springs.

• Emily Snyder, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• Karli Spann, Edmond North High School, Edmond, Okla.

• Emily Spatz, Farmington High School, Farmington.

• Hawkin Starke, Bryant High School, Alexander.

• Preston Starkey, Greenbrier High School, Greenbrier.

• Virginia Stayton, Joplin High School, Joplin, Mo.

• Cory Stephenson, Bentonville High School, Cave Springs.

• Anindhitha Sudhakaran, Frances Howell High School, O'Fallon, Mo.

• Tanvi Sunkireddy, Bentonville High School, Bentonville.

• Brian Tarno, Tuckerman High School, Tuckerman.

• Mason Thomas, Centerpoint High School, Glenwood.

• Nicolaus Vail, Valley Springs High School, Western Grove.

• Christina Varghese, Life Way Christian School, Bentonville.

• Jarrod Varnell, Paris High School, Paris.

• Gabrielle Vatthanatham, Van Buren High School, Van Buren.

• Luke Welch, Bryant High School, Alexander.

• David Whelan, Springdale High School, Springdale.

• Breanna Williams, Alma High School, Rudy.

• Lucinda Williams, Haas Hall Academy, Springdale.

• Abby Wrzesinski, Hamburg High School, Lake Village.

Metro on 07/01/2018

Print Headline: UA Honors College adds 88 students


Sponsor Content