Today's Paper Latest After 9/11 iPad Core Values Weather Coronavirus The Article Story ideas Obits Puzzles Archive Newsletters

School news

July 19, 2018 at 1:00 a.m.
Courtesy photo Members of the Children's Hospital Club at Washington Junior High School in Bentonville ended the school year by presenting the Make a Wish Foundation with $10,034. Participating were (first row, from left) Esther Schroeder from Make a Wish, Halle Jenkins, Sophia Fargo, school choir director Shelly O'Dell, Cooper Pattengill, (back row) Blake Johnson, Victoria Stevens, Rachel Gregory and Alexa Roldan. The students, staff, clubs and classrooms at the school participated in several fundraisers throughout the year.


The following information is now available on the website of the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette,

• University of Arkansas at Monticello graduates.

• Scholarship winners of Southern Arkansas University in Magnolia.

Fulbright award

Stephanie Galen, a student at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, has received a Fulbright U.S. Student Program award to Bulgaria. Galen will support the teaching of English at the Atanas Burov Secondary Vocational School of Economics, Administration and Service as part of a Fulbright English teaching assistant program.

Galen will conduct research, teach English and provide expertise abroad for the 2018-2019 academic year. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected for academic and professional achievement as well as service and leadership potential.

Mercer University

Ashley Whittle of Springdale and Wesley Wynn of Van Buren are 2018 graduates of Mercer University in Macon, Ga. Whittle earned a bachelor of music degree, and Wynn earned a bachelor of science degree in engineering.

Whittle also was named to the school's spring 2018 honor roll.

Ithaca College

Emily Galbraith of Springdale is a 2018 graduate of Ithaca (N.Y.) College, with a bachelor of arts degree in psychology with cum laude honors.

Rogers State University

Rogers State University in Claremore, Okla., named several local students to its spring 2018 honor rolls.

Students on the president's list earned 4.0 grade-point averages, including Lauren Schuldt of Fayetteville, Erol Banuelos of Rogers and Carlye Bohannan of Springdale.

Students on the dean's list earned grade-point averages of 3.5 or better, including Jacob Forbes of Springdale and Hannah Evans of Siloam Springs.

Wheaton College

Charles Nystrom of Rogers is a 2018 graduate of Wheaton (Ill.) College, with a bachelor of science degree in biology with magna cum laude honors.

John Brown University

Luke Merrick of Springdale, a senior music major at John Brown University in Siloam Springs, earned first place in the Upper College and Independent Studio Men category at the National Association of Teachers of Singing 2018 auditions last month in Las Vegas. Merrick placed first over 140 students in his category, with total earnings of $1,600 in prize money.

University of Iowa

Austin Schwarzkopf of Farmington is a 2018 graduate of the University of Iowa in Iowa City received a bachelor of science degree in sport and recreation management.

Georgia Institute of Technology

Two local students were named to the spring 2018 honor rolls at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.

Kyle Jiang of Fayetteville earned faculty honors, with a grade-point average of 4.0. Fariah Majid of Fayetteville made the dean's list, with a grade-point average of 3.0 or better.

Rogers State University

Several local students are 2018 graduates of Rogers State University in Claremore, Okla. Christopher Miguel of Bentonville earned a bachelor of science degree; Amber Henson of Fort Smith, a bachelor of science; and Kendra Linn of Rogers, a bachelor of arts degree.

Quinnipiac University

John Crawford of Fort Smith was named to the spring 2018 dean's list at Quinnipiac University in Hamden, Conn., with a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Shubhanakar Dharmadhikari of Bentonville was named to the 2018 spring dean's list at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities in Minneapolis, with a grade-point average of 3.66 or higher.

LDAA Scholarship

Caleb Carr, a 2018 graduate of Shiloh Christian School, was awarded the Ralph G. Norman Scholarship sponsored by the Learning Disabilities Association of Arkansas. Carr will attend the University of Arkansas this fall and plans to study civil engineering.

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Daniel Viera of Bentonville is a 2018 graduate of the United States Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y., with a bachelor of science degree and a commission in the U. S. armed forces. He also earned a merchant marine officer license, qualifying him to serve as an officer on any ship in the U.S. flag merchant marine. Viera was nominated by Sen. John Boozman and Rep. Steve Womack of Arkansas' 3rd congressional district.


Katelyn Capdeville and Benjamin Buccheri, students of Har-Ber High School in Springdale, were awarded Skill Point certificates in digital cinema production at the national 2018 SkillsUSA Championships in Louisville, Ky.

University of North Georgia

Brandon Lithalangsy of Springdale will spend six weeks at University of North Georgia in Dahlonega learning Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Korean or Russian in the school's immersive summer language institute. Students learn one year's worth of language, allowing them to earn eight college credit hours upon successful completion of the program.

Wichita State University

Sarah Reynolds of Fayetteville, Etta DeLisse of Greenwood and Ryan Giesen of Rogers were named to the spring 2018 dean's honor roll at Wichita (Kan.) State University, with grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher.

Tulsa Community College

Avery Holmes is a 2018 graduate of Tulsa (Okla.) Community College, with an associate's degree and honors scholar distinction, with a grade-point average of 3.5 or better.

Declaration of Learning

Four area teachers recently completed the third year of the Arkansas Declaration of Learning program, including Sarah Mattingly-Benson of Thaden School in Bentonville, Christine Stewart of Bentonville West High School in Centerton, Reagan Goodman of Fulbright Junior High School in Bentonville and Lori West of Helen Tyson Middle School in Springdale. The teacher used historic art and objects from state and national museums and libraries to develop innovative lesson plans centered around civic engagement.

Mattingly-Benson from Thaden School was recognized as the "Best of the Best" educators in the program and presented her work at a private dinner celebrating participants at the Governor's Mansion. West was one of seven educators who mentored program participants.

Program partners in Arkansas are the Arkansas Department of Education, Clinton Foundation, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Central Arkansas Library System's Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum and the U.S. Department of State's Diplomatic Reception Rooms.

Grantham University

Two local students are 2018 graduates of Grantham University in Lenexa, Kan.Shakemia Harris of Prairie Grove received an associate of arts degree in business administration. Eric Jakobitz of Springdale received a master of business administration degree in project management.

Ag Leadership Seminar

Emily Traylor of Prairie Grove recently participated in the Arkansas Farm Bureau's first "Ag Youth" leadership seminar at the Farm Bureau Center in Little Rock. The seminar provided students with a look at agriculture careers. The week's activities included use of technology used in today's agriculture, a workshop on poultry careers, tours of Keo Fish Farm and the state Cooperative Extension office, a visit to the State Capitol and a discussion about Farm Bureau careers.

NAN Our Town on 07/19/2018

Print Headline: School news


Sponsor Content