Today's Paper Latest stories Obits Traffic Newsletters Weather Puzzles

LITTLE ROCK — With victories in special elections, Republicans will continue to control the 35-member Arkansas Senate next year. Control of the House will be determined in November.

Breanne Davis of Russellville defeated Democrat Teresa Gallegos in a special election Tuesday. In the Cabot area, Ricky Hill defeated Democrat Steven McNeely.

Republicans hold 11 of 17 "holdover" Senate seats not on the ballot this year, and five seats this year had only GOP candidates. With those posts, Tuesday's victories give Republicans at least 18 seats, while Democrats have at least seven.

Republicans control 40 seats in the Arkansas House already, and Democrats have 14. The November ballot will have 46 House races.

Republicans took control of the legislature in the 2012 election. It was the first time the GOP held power since Reconstruction.

Sponsor Content


You must be signed in to post comments
  • GeneralMac
    May 25, 2018 at 2:32 p.m.

    ." Republicans will continue to control the 35 member Arkansas Senate next year"

    I would love to put that on a billboard near where some of the "usual suspects" live.

    Reading that brought tears of joy to my patriotic eyes.