Today's Paper Latest Elections Coronavirus 🔵 Covid Classroom Cooking Families Core values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

Six Arkansas teachers have been named 2018 state finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The National Science Foundation, on behalf of the White House, oversees the program that recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use in their classrooms.

Honored for their teaching in math are:

• Amy Burks, a teacher at Crestwood Elementary in the North Little Rock School District;

• Stacy Dustman, a teacher at Elza R. Tucker Elementary in the Rogers School District;

• Anna Shaw, a teacher at J.O. Kelly Middle School in the Springdale School District.

Honored for their teaching of science are:

• Cheri DeSoto, a teacher at Holt Middle School in the Fayetteville School District;

• Joyce Dooley, a teacher at Ardis Ann Middle School in the Bentonville School District;

• Tonya Hogue, a teacher at Mayflower Elementary School in the Mayflower School District.

A state review committee selected the six finalists from a pool of 51 nominated teachers.

A national committee of scientists, mathematicians and educators annually recommends up to 108 teachers from the 50 states, Washington, D.C., and U.S. territories to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in mathematics, science and computer science.

National award-winning teachers each receive a $10,000 prize, a presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, D.C., for a series of recognition events and professional development activities.

"Our teachers are truly invaluable," Gov. Asa Hutchinson said. "The job that our educators do each day is instrumental in creating growth and opportunities for our state and our citizens."

Metro on 09/21/2018

Print Headline: 6 teachers finalists for award


Sponsor Content