Governor announces innovation group

Gov. Asa Hutchinson on Tuesday announced the creation and membership of the Arkansas Innovation Council, a group he said will help accelerate the "development and expansion of Arkansas' knowledge-based, technology-driven economy."

The council will have its first meeting Feb. 19 at the Robinson Center in Little Rock.

Founding members are Donald R. Bobbitt, University of Arkansas System president; Albert Braunfisch, chairman of MSpark; Amy Callahan, Collective Bias co-founder; Ross DeVol, Walton Fellow of the Walton Family Foundation; William T. Dillard III, executive vice president of Dillard's Inc.; George Dunklin Jr. of Dunklin Farms; Richard Howe, chief executive officer of Inuvo;

Doug McMillon, Walmart Inc. president and CEO; Judy McReynolds, chairman, president and CEO of ArcBest Corp.; Jeffrey W. Nolan Jr., president and CEO of Loutre Land and Timber Co.; Cam Patterson, chancellor of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; Mike Preston, executive director of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission; John Rutledge, president of First Security Bank in Little Rock;

Cheryl Schluterman, interim president of the Arkansas Development Finance Authority; Josh Smith, CEO of Metova Inc.; Warren Stephens, chairman, president and CEO of Stephens Inc.; Chuck Welch, president of the Arkansas State University System; Troy Wells, president and CEO of Baptist Health; and Noel White, president and CEO of Tyson Foods Inc.

Winrock International's Innovate Arkansas will coordinate the council's activities, the governor's office said.

Business on 02/13/2019

Upcoming Events