Today's Paper Search Latest New app In the news Traffic #Gazette200 Paper Trails Listen Digital replica FAQ Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles + Games Archive

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated four Arkansas counties as primary natural disaster areas, which allows producers in those counties to apply for emergency loans.

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue said Thursday that producers in Arkansas, Lee, St. Francis and White counties who suffered losses caused by excessive rain that occurred Aug. 1 through Nov. 15 are eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used for various recovery needs, including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts, according to a USDA news release.

Producers in Cleburne, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Faulkner, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie and Woodruff counties also are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for the emergency loans is Oct. 15. The Farm Service Agency will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

State Desk on 02/27/2019

Print Headline: USDA offers loans in 4 more counties


Sponsor Content

You must be signed in to post comments