Today's Paper Search Latest Coronavirus Families Core values App Listen Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

Twenty-five incoming freshmen at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock have been named Donaghey Scholars.

The scholarship program is UALR's honors program.

Students have the opportunity to attend some small, seminar-style classes, develop bonds with other academically gifted students and faculty, and study abroad. The core classes -- which are team-taught by faculty across different academic disciplines -- emphasize close reading of primary texts, vigorous discussion and extensive writing.

Donaghey Scholars receive a financial package totaling between $75,000-$95,000: full tuition and fees; a stipend of $6,000, $8,000, or $10,000 per year, dependent upon qualifications; an on-campus housing subsidy; financial assistance to study abroad; and a new laptop computer.

There are no standardized minimum requirements to be considered for the Donaghey Scholars program.

But applicants go through a rigorous process, including interviews, and they must have a strong high school academic record.

The median ACT college-entrance exam score is 30.5, and the median high school grade-point average is 4.1, said Simon Hawkins, director of the Donaghey Scholars Propgram, in an email. Five were valedictorians of their high schools.

Of the entering Donaghey group, 56% are white, 24% are of Asian descent, 16% are black, and 4% are Hispanic, Hawkins said.

At least 71% of Donaghey Scholars have gone on to earn at least one graduate degree, more than double the rate for Arkansans with undergraduate degrees. About 35% have gone on to complete medical school, law school, or hold a Ph.D.

Here are the names, hometowns, high schools and majors of the entering Donaghey freshmen:

• Alex Ball, Bryant, Bryant High School, mathematics.

• Sahana Bettadapura, North Little Rock, Little Rock Central High School, biology.

• Caleb Boutin, Omro, Wis., Winneconne High School, economics.

• Lane E. Boyd, Maumelle, Maumelle High School, computer science.

• Naomi Carpenter, Little Rock, Little Rock Christian Academy, Web design.

• Brittney Dudra, Melbourne, Melbourne High School, psychology.

• Ruchik Gabhawala, Little Rock, Little Rock Central High School, computer science.

• Emily Hillyard, Sherwood, Sylvan Hills High School, chemistry.

• Caroline Johnson, Hot Springs, Lakeside High School, biology.

• Jasmine Johnson, Bryant, Bryant High School, political science.

• Suzanne Kane, Fayetteville, Fayetteville High School, American Sign Language.

• Amber Keomany, Fort Smith, Northside High School, psychology.

• Kristen Macchi, Bryant, Bryant High School, biology.

• Gary Ramsey Marts, Little Rock, Little Rock Central High School, English.

• Mikiya McAdory, Marion, Marion Senior High School, biology.

• Chloe McGehee, Bryant, Bryant High School, applied communication.

• Clara Mitchell, Hensley, Little Rock Parkview High School, mass communications.

• Junius Mugambi, Little Rock, Lisa Academy West High School, civil engineering.

• Ahad Nadeem, Little Rock, Pulaski Academy, anthropology.

• El Potter, Little Rock, Wilbur D. Mills University Studies High School, theater arts.

• Sylvia Shaw, Midwest City, Okla., Carl Albert High School, nursing.

• Alyssa Smith, Texarkana, Arkansas High School, mathematics.

• Ibrahim Suid, Little Rock, Lisa Academy North High School, engineering.

• Jose Vivanco, Holly, Mich., Holly High School, physics.

• Nakiah Willis, Fort Smith, Northside High School, communication sciences and disorders.

Metro on 07/21/2019

Print Headline: UALR names 25 freshmen as Donaghey Scholars


Sponsor Content