Today's Paper Search Latest Coronavirus Families Core values App Listen Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive


Ethan Miller, a Texarkana High School freshman, was selected as the concert master for the Texarkana Youth Symphony Orchestra. Tryouts consist of students playing for conductor Steve Bennett, who also conducts the Texarkana Independent School District's orchestra. In the tryouts, every student plays his instrument and the conductor ranks candidates on the basis of their abilities. As the concert master, Miller will lead the youth symphony orchestra practices and performances. He has taken private lessons since he was 4 years old.

The University of Central Arkansas Alumni Association will present the Alumni Service Award and the inaugural Young Alumni Award to two alumni at a ceremony during Homecoming 2019. Brandy Pate, 1998, will be honored as the Alumni Service Award recipient and Spencer Gordy, 2007, is the Young Alumni Award winner. The two will be presented at 7 p.m. Oct. 25 during the Alumni and Friends Party at Centennial Events Center at 1600 Centennial Club Drive in Conway.

Eleven students at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock have been awarded scholarships from the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC). UALR's students are among 35 students from colleges and universities across the state selected for this year's awards. The 11 students are collectively receiving $10,000, with some matching funds from the university. All students were honored Sept. 13 at the LULAC Council 750 Little Rock Scholarship Gala in the Great Hall of the William J. Clinton Presidential Center. Local UA Little Rock students who received the scholarship include Jimena Balada of Benton, Alexey Chacon Perez of Mabelvale, Jessica Gonzalez of Little Rock, Janette Munoz of Little Rock, Ashley Murguia of Little Rock, Yazmin Santillan of Little Rock, Elizabeth Santillan of Little Rock, Daisy Vasquez of Benton and Paola Rodriquez of Little Rock

Chance Craig of Marvell has been selected to receive the prestigious Dennis Washington Leadership Graduate Scholarship. Administered by the Horatio Alger Association and funded by the Dennis & Phyllis Washington Foundation, the scholarship provides scholarships of up to $120,000 each to alumni recipients of Horatio Alger National and State Scholarships who aspire to obtain graduate degrees. Craig plans to attend Columbia University for a master's of business.

Arkansas Achievers is an opportunity to give recognition to Arkansans for their achievements.

Civilian and military achievements are accepted.

Please follow these guidelines:


1) Must be an Arkansan or have graduated from a school in Arkansas.

2) Received an award, scholarship, medal or promotion.

Pageants, deans' lists, graduations or military enlistments are not accepted.

No photographs please.

To submit an Achiever email us at with the words "Arkansas Achievers" in the subject line.

Metro on 09/22/2019

Print Headline: Arkansas Achievers


Sponsor Content

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with the Democrat-Gazette commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. The Democrat-Gazette commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.