Today's Paper Latest Sports Core Values Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive Story ideas iPad

Arkansas Achievers

May 17, 2020 at 2:43 a.m.

Colby Dellinger, a senior from Ashdown High School, has been awarded a $500 Regional Advanced Manufacturing Partnership scholarship from the University of Arkansas Cossatot Community College. Dellinger plans to use the money to help finish his degree at UA Cossatot. As a high school junior, Dellinger began taking concurrent classes at UA Cossatot, where he accumulated 15 college credit hours and achieved a GPA of 3.6. Those college credits will be applied to his college transcript as he continues to pursue an associate of applied science: general technology degree at UA Cossatot after high school graduation. Dellinger is currently enrolled in an online summer course at UA Cossatot. He plans to pursue a career in industrial maintenance and will become a full-time student at the college this fall. He will be taking classes at the Lockesburg Industrial Maintenance Institute on the Lockesburg campus.

• Baptist Health-Fort Smith recently honored one of its nurses with the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses. The award was given to Carrie Brewton, RN, who is certified in infection control and prevention. She has been a nurse for more than 20 years and joined the hospital's quality department in 2017. Brewton has been instrumental in the hospital's implementation of covid-19 preparedness and response, according to Stephanie Whitaker, MSN, RN, chief nursing officer for Baptist Health's Western Region. Brewton spent countless hours caring for Baptist Health-Fort Smith's patients, families, providers and staff members, reassuring everyone while implementing new infection prevention policies and practices that have kept everyone safe. In her role as an infection preventionist, Brewton works with the facility and nursing teams to create dedicated space for covid-19 patients, identify ways to conserve personal protection equipment, and provide weekly updates to physician leaders.

• Museum Director Bill Gatewood has received a lifetime achievement award from the Arkansas Historical Association. Over the years, Gatewood has made strides at the Old State House Museum toward preserving the building and making sure the museum's educational programs, exhibits and collections stay vital and vibrant going into the future. The award signifies the Arkansas Historical Association's recognition of "his steadfast stewardship over one of Arkansas's most important historic sites." Gatewood is "a very forward-thinking person whether it is exhibits or the collection department or education," said Jo Ellen Maack, the museum's curator. He is always thinking ahead about what can be done better and what can be expanded, she said. Since Gatewood became director in 1999, she said, he has generously supported the curatorial team and helped the museum's collection grow from about 16,000 artifacts to about 33,000 artifacts.

• Three University of Arkansas at Little Rock College of Business students won first-place awards at the Phi Beta Lambda 2020 Arkansas State Leadership Conference held April 3-4 in North Little Rock. As top winners in the regional competition, the students will be representing the UALR Phi Beta Lambda chapter at the National Leadership Conference to be held virtually June 24-27. Shibani Lal, a senior business analytics and human resources management major from Little Rock, and vice president of UALR Phi Beta Lambda, received first place in the categories of job interview and who's who in Phi Beta Lambda, as well as first place in the group business presentation competition. Blake Hughes, a senior marketing major from Bryant, and a member of Phi Beta Lambda, won first place in marketing concepts. Pynshailang Nongsiej, a graduate student majoring in business information systems from Shillong, India, and president of the UALR Phi Beta Lambda chapter, received first place in computer animation and first place in the group business presentation competition.

Ioannis Tzanetakis, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, professor of plant pathology, is one of 12 recipients of outstanding faculty member awards for 2019-20. Tzanetakis has a dual appointment in the department of entomology and plant pathology -- for research in the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station, the research arm of the UA system Division of Agriculture, and for teaching in the UA Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences.

Arkansas Achievers is an opportunity to give recognition to Arkansans for their achievements.

Civilian and military achievements are accepted.

Please follow these guidelines:


1) Must be an Arkansan or have graduated from a school in Arkansas.

2) Received an award, scholarship or medal.

Pageants, deans' lists, graduations or military enlistments are not accepted.

No photographs please.

To submit an Achiever email us at with the words "Arkansas Achievers" in the subject line.

SundayMonday on 05/17/2020

Print Headline: Arkansas Achievers


Sponsor Content