Today's Paper Latest Elections Coronavirus 🔵 Covid Classroom Cooking Families Core values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive
ADVERTISEMENT
story.lead_photo.caption

A disputed call, which appeared to be a fumble that would have given Arkansas the ball with 28 seconds to play, went in favor of Auburn.

The Tigers survived the Razorbacks 30-28 with a field goal with seven seconds to play.

If the Southeastern Conference makes a statement, it will be that the officials missed the call.

No one, not the officials nor anyone else, can dispute the great comeback for the Hogs, who were slow and sluggish throughout the first quarter while spotting the Tigers a 17-0 lead.

But the team that couldn’t muster a conference win in the two previous seasons played its heart out on Saturday. It was good enough to win, and probably should have, after outscoring the home team 28-13 over the final 39 minutes.

The Razorbacks battled those final 39 minutes and had it won. But the decision was that Auburn quarterback Bo Nix fumbled the snap, then picked up the ball to "spike" it behind him, and it was ruled intentional grounding instead of a fumble.

Arkansas had recovered the fumble, but in the end the officials had the final word instead of the coaches and players.

ADVERTISEMENT

Sponsor Content

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with the Democrat-Gazette commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. The Democrat-Gazette commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT