Today's Paper News Sports Features Business Opinion LEARNS Guide Newsletters Obits Games Archive Notices Core Values

Redistricting bill that would split Pulaski County among 3 congressional districts filed in state Legislature

by Rachel Herzog | September 22, 2021 at 10:35 a.m.
FILE — The state Capitol is shown in this 2019 file photo.

A redistricting bill that would split Pulaski County among three separate congressional districts was filed Tuesday evening.

Senate Bill 721 by Sen. Bart Hester, R-Cave Springs, puts parts of Arkansas' most populous county in the 1st, 2nd and 4th Congressional Districts.

The county, which contains the state’s capital city of Little Rock, has been entirely in the 2nd Congressional District since the 1960s, according to historical data from the Arkansas GIS office.

The Arkansas General Assembly is set to be called into extended regular session starting Sept. 29 to consider legislation to redraw the boundaries of the state’s four congressional districts based on data from the 2020 U.S. census.

Redistricting bills filed Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday will be the subject of discussion at Thursday’s 1 p.m. meeting of the House and Senate committees on state agencies and governmental affairs.

Read Thursday’s Arkansas Democrat-Gazette for further details.

CORRECTION: Senate Bill 721 puts parts of Pulaski County in the 1st, 2nd and 4th Congressional Districts. An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated how the county would be split under the bill.


Sponsor Content