Today's Paper Latest stories Obits Newsletters Traffic Weather Puzzles/games
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

FEATURES


NEWS

It’s bound to happen to every air traveler at one time or another: the delay. The canceled flight. The missed connection. The dreaded bumping.

Of course, there are options for the stranded. Try to get on another flight. Book a hotel room. Rent a car and just drive it.

But trying to sort through the choices and actually make a plan can involve hours of time online and on the phone doing research and trying to reach a live human being. Here’s a list of phone numbers and web addresses that can at least cut down on some of that research time.

AIRLINES


Delta: (800) 221-1212 / (800) 455-2720 / delta.com

Southwest: (800) 435-9792 / southwest.com

American: (800)433-7300 / aa.com

United: (800) 864-8331 / united.com

Allegiant: (888) 441-3622 / (702) 505-8888 / allegiantair.com

Frontier: (801) 401-9000 / flyfrontier.com

Via Air: (407) 499-4992 / flyviaair.com

CAR RENTAL


Advantage: (800) 777-5500 / advantage.com

Alamo: (844) 354-6962 (reservations) / (844) 357-5138 (customer service) / alamo.com

Avis: (800) 633-3469 (reservations) / (800) 352-7900 (cs) / avis.com

Budget Car Rental: (800) 218-7992 (reservations) / (800) 214-6094 (cs) / budget.com

Dollar Rent A Car: (866) 434-2226 (reservations) / (800) 800-5252 (cs) / dollar.com

EZ Rent a Car: (800) 277-5171 / e-zrentacar.com

Enterprise: (800) 261-7331 / enterprise.com

Hertz: (800) 654-3131 / hertz.com

National: (844) 382-6875 (reservations) / (844) 393-9989 (cs) / nationalcar.com

Payless: (800) 729-5377 / paylesscar.com

SIXT Rent a Car: (888) 749-8227 / sixt.com

Thrifty Car Rental: (800) 847-4389 (reservations) / (800) 334-1705 / thrifty.com

Zipcar: (866) 494-7227 / zipcar.com

HOTELS


Baymont Inn & Suites: (800) 337-0550 / wyndhamhotels.com/baymont

Best Western: (800) 780-7234 / bestwestern.com

Comfort Inn & Suites: (800) 228-5050 / (877) 424-6423 / choicehotels.com/comfort-inn / choicehotels.com/comfort-suites

Country Inn & Suites: (800) 830-5222 / countryinns.com

Courtyard by Marriott: (888) 236-2427 / courtyard.marriott.com

Crowne Plaza: (800) 227-6963 / ihg.com/crowneplaza

Days Inn: (800) 225-3297 / wyndhamhotels.com/days-inn

Doubletree: (800) 445-8667 / doubletree.hilton.com

Drury Inn: (800) 378-7946 / druryhotels.com

Econo Lodge: (800) 228-5050 / (877) 424-6423 / choicehotels.com/econo-lodge

Embassy Suites: (800) 445-8667 / embassysuites.hilton.com

Fairfield Inn & Suites: (888) 236-2427 / fairfield.marriott.com

Hampton Inn & Suites: (800) 445-8667 / hamptoninn.hilton.com

Hilton: (800) 445-8667 / hilton.com

Hilton Garden Inn: (800) 445-8667 / hiltongardeninn3.hilton.com

Holiday Inn & Suites: (888) 465-4329 / ihg.com/holidayinn

Holiday Inn Express: (888) 465-4329 / ihg.com/holidayinnexpress

Homewood Suites: (800) 445-8667 / homewoodsuites.hilton.com

Hotel Indigo: (866) 246-3446 / ihg.com/hotelindigo

Howard Johnson: (800) 221-5801 / wyndhamhotels.com/hojo

Hyatt Place: (800) 233-1234 / hyatt.com

LaQuinta: (800) 753-3757 / lq.com

Marriott: (888) 236-2427 / marriott.com

Microtel Inn & Suites: (800) 337-0050 / wyndhamhotels.com/microtel

Motel 6: (800) 899-9841 / motel6.com

Quality Inn: (800) 228-5050 / (877) 424-6423 / choicehotels.com/quality-inn

Ramada: (800) 854-9517 / wyndhamhotels.com/ramada

Red Carpet Inn: (800) 251-1962 / bookroomsnow.com

Red Lion Hotel: (844) 248-7467 / redlion.com

Renaissance: (888) 236-2427 / renaissance-hotels.marriott.com

Residence Inn by Marriott: (888) 236-2427 / residenceinn.marriott.com

Sheraton: (800) 325-3535 / starwoodhotels.com/sheraton

Sleep Inn: (800) 228-5050 / (877) 424-6423 / choicehotels.com/sleep-inn

SpringHill Suites: (888) 236-2427 / springhillsuites.marriott.com

Staybridge Suites: (800) 238-8000 / ihg.com/staybridge

Super 8: (800) 454-3213 / wyndhamhotels.com/super-8

Westin: (877) 946-8357 / westin.marriott.com

Wingate Inn: (800) 337-0077 / wyndhamhotels.com/wingate

Arkansas airports are not big hubs. Getting where we want to go often requires stopovers — the hops we cannot skip. Add in layovers, and it could be faster to drive.

Want to visit Indianapolis? You’ll change planes in Chicago or Atlanta, Dallas, Detroit, Washington or in Charlotte, N.C. Oklahoma City? First you’ll touch down in Dallas, Atlanta or Houston.

But we can fly nonstop to some places. Here are the options:

Little Rock


NWA


FORT SMITH

There are two major carrier passenger airlines at Fort Smith Regional Airport, aka FSM:

• Atlanta: Delta flies direct to Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International (ATL).

• Dallas: American flies direct to Dallas/Fort Worth International (DFW).

TEXARKANA

Dallas: American Eagle has daily nonstop flights from Texarkana Regional Airport-Webb Field, aka TXK, to Dallas/Fort Worth International (DFW).