Today's Paper Latest Coronavirus The Article Core Values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

Verlander claims second Cy Young

Mets’ deGrom warrants NL repeat by The Associated Press | November 14, 2019 at 2:42 a.m.
Houston Astros starting pitcher Justin Verlander speaks during a news conference before Game 5 of the baseball World Series against the Washington Nationals Sunday, Oct. 27, 2019, in Washington.

NEW YORK -- Justin Verlander has a second AL Cy Young Award -- and a clear path paved toward Cooperstown.

Verlander beat out teammate Gerrit Cole in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced Wednesday night. Verlander got 17 first-place votes compared to 13 for Cole, who became a free agent after the season.

Mets ace Jacob deGrom won the NL prize for the second consecutive year. He received 29 of 30 first-place votes, becoming the 11th pitcher to win Cy Youngs in consecutive years. He and Verlander are the 20th and 21st players to win the award multiple times.

The previous repeat winner was Washington's Max Scherzer in 2016 and '17. Scherzer finished third this season, a slot behind the Dodgers' Hyun-Jin Ryu.

Verlander continued a marvelous second act to his career since a 2017 trade from Detroit to Houston. He led the majors with 21 victories and padded his Hall of Fame resume by getting his 3,000th strikeout in his final start of the regular season. He also reached 300 punchouts in a season for the first time.

Verlander no-hit Toronto on Sept. 1, becoming the sixth pitcher with three no-hitters in a career. He joined a group that includes Hall of Famers Nolan Ryan, Sandy Kofax, Bob Feller and Cy Young, along with 1880s pitcher Larry Corcoran.

The 36-year-old Verlander won his first Cy Young in 2011, when he was also named MVP, and has since been a three-time runner-up.

The case between Verlander and Cole was tight. Cole had more strikeouts (326) and a lower ERA (2.50), but Verlander threw 10 2/3 more innings and won more games. They are the first set of teammates to finish 1-2 in AL voting -- it's happened five times in the NL.

Verlander and Cole pitched Houston to the World Series, where Cole continued to dominate while Verlander faltered. The right-hander lost twice to the champion Washington Nationals -- a letdown not factored in voting that concluded before the postseason began.

Tampa Bay Rays right-hander Charlie Morton finished third a year after leaving Houston in free agency.

DeGrom is in special company as a repeat NL winner, joining Sandy Koufax, Greg Maddux, Randy Johnson, Tim Lincecum, Clayton Kershaw and Scherzer.

The 31-year-old led the NL with 255 strikeouts and posted a 2.43 ERA. His resume was bolstered by his durability -- deGrom totaled 204 innings, compared to 172 1/3 for Scherzer and 182 2/3 for Ryu.

A year after taking the award despite just 10 victories -- fewest ever by a starting pitcher -- deGrom earned 11 wins with a Mets team that's struggled to support him.

After signing a $137.5 million, five-year deal to remain with the Mets shortly before opening day, deGrom wasn't so dominant early in the season. He got hit around in April and May, even allowing seven runs in an outing against the last-place Marlins.

The embarrassment in Miami was a wake-up call for deGrom. Following that loss, he went 8-3 with a 1.89 ERA over his final 23 starts. DeGrom wrapped up the season with 23 consecutive scoreless innings.

"I think that was something I struggled with to start this year, was kind of dwelling on what happened last year," deGrom said. "Kind of not focusing on the task ahead as much as I probably should have."

Recent Cy Young Award winners


2019 — Jacob deGrom, New York

2018 — Jacob deGrom, New York

2017 — Max Scherzer, Washington

2016 — Max Scherzer, Washington

2015 — Jake Arrieta, Chicago

2014 — Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles

2013 — Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles

2012 — R.A. Dickey, New York

2011 — Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles

2010 — Roy Halladay, Philadelphia

2009 — Tim Lincecum, San Francisco

2008 — Tim Lincecum, San Francisco

2007 — Jake Peavy, San Diego

2006 — Brandon Webb, Arizona

2005 — Chris Carpenter, St. Louis

2004 — Roger Clemens, Houston

2003 — Eric Gagne, Los Angeles

2002 — Randy Johnson, Arizona

2001 — Randy Johnson, Arizona

2000 — Randy Johnson, Arizona

1999 — Randy Johnson, Arizona

1998 — Tom Glavine, Atlanta

1997 — Pedro Martinez, Montreal

1996 — John Smoltz, Atlanta

1995 — Greg Maddux, Atlanta

1994 — Greg Maddux, Atlanta

1993 — Greg Maddux, Atlanta

1992 — Greg Maddux, Chicago

1991 — Tom Glavine, Atlanta

1990 — Doug Drabek, Pittsburgh

1989 — Mark Davis, San Diego

1988 — Orel Hershiser, Los Angeles

1987 — Steve Bedrosian, Philadelphia


2019 — Justin Verlander, Houston

2018 — Blake Snell, Tampa Bay

2017 — Corey Kluber, Cleveland

2016 — Rick Porcello, Boston

2015 — Dallas Keuchel, Houston

2014 — Corey Kluber, Cleveland

2013 — Max Scherzer, Detroit

2012 — David Price, Tampa Bay

2011 — Justin Verlander, Detroit

2010 — Felix Hernandez, Seattle

2009 — Zack Greinke, Kansas City

2008 — Cliff Lee, Cleveland

2007 — CC Sabathia, Cleveland

2006 — Johan Santana, Minnesota

2005 — Bartolo Colon, Los Angeles

2004 — Johan Santana, Minnesota

2003 — Roy Halladay, Toronto

2002 — Barry Zito, Oakland

2001 — Roger Clemens, New York

2000 — Pedro Martinez, Boston

1999 — Pedro Martinez, Boston

1998 — Roger Clemens, Toronto

1997 — Roger Clemens, Toronto

1996 — Pat Hentgen, Toronto

1995 — Randy Johnson, Seattle

1994 — David Cone, Kansas City

1993 — Jack McDowell, Chicago

1992 — Dennis Eckersley, Oakland

1991 — Roger Clemens, Boston

1990 — Bob Welch, Oakland

1989 — Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City

1988 — Frank Viola, Minnesota

1987 — Roger Clemens, Boston

New York Mets' starting pitcher Jacob deGrom, left, listens as New York Mets' second baseman Robinson Cano talks in the dugout during a baseball game against the Arizona Diamondbacks, Monday, Sept. 9, 2019, in New York.

Sports on 11/14/2019

Print Headline: Verlander claims second Cy Young


Sponsor Content