Today's Paper Latest Coronavirus Cooking Families Core values App Listen Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

Washburn University

Washburn University in Topeka, Kan., has announced its President's List honorees for the spring 2020 semester. More than 750 students, including Sam Merutka of Bentonville, qualified for the President's List.

To qualify for the President's List, a student must complete at least 12 hours of graded credits and earn a semester grade point average of 4.0.


Mississippi College

Alexis Richards of Bentonville has been named to the spring 2020 President's List at Mississippi College.

To be eligible for the President's List, a student must maintain a 4.0 grade point average and must take a full course load of at least 12 semester hours of undergraduate credit with all academic courses impacting their grade point average.

Located in Clinton, Miss., Mississippi College is a private, co-educational Christian university of liberal arts and sciences serving 5,000 students from 40 states and more than three dozen countries.


Samford University

Among 1,759 students named to the 2020 spring semester Dean's List at Samford University were Makenzie Daniels of Fayetteville; Allison Lee of Fayetteville; Harper Whaley of Cave Springs; and Alexandra Lewandowski of Springdale.

To qualify for the Dean's List, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework. Dean's List is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.

Samford is a nationally ranked Christian university located in Birmingham, Ala.


University of Utah

The University of Utah honored 8,628 graduates in its first-ever virtual commencement ceremony on April 30.

The graduating class of 2020 includes Alison Luscomb of Van Buren, whose major is listed as Chemistry MS.

Graduates from the university in Salt Lake City represented 50 U.S. states and 59 foreign countries.


Wheaton College

Javian Walter of Fayetteville was named to the Dean's List for the spring 2020 semester at Wheaton College in Wheaton, Ill.

To earn Dean's List honors at Wheaton, an undergraduate student must carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale.

Wheaton College is a coeducational Christian liberal arts college noted for its rigorous academics, integration of faith and learning, and consistent ranking among the top liberal arts colleges in the country.


Eastern Connecticut State

Eastern Connecticut State University recently released its Dean's List for the spring 2020 semester. Included was Jhomara Hernandez from Pea Ridge, who majors in political science.

To qualify for the Dean's List, full-time students must complete a minimum of 12 credits in letter-graded courses during the semester.

Eastern Connecticut State University is the state of Connecticut's public liberal arts university, serving 5,000 students annually.


Clemson University

Clemson University has announced the spring 2020 President's List.

Included on the list are Charles Morriss Henry of Fayetteville, majoring in microbiology; and Caroline Rose Long of Fayetteville, majoring in pre-business.

To be named to the President's List, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade-point average.

Founded in 1889, Clemson University is a public, land-grant research university in Clemson, S.C.


Cedarville University

Marcus Gowin of Siloam Springs was named to the Cedarville University Dean's List for spring 2020. This recognition requires the student to obtain a 3.5 GPA or higher for the semester and carry a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 4,380 students in more than 150 areas of study.


University of Iowa

Among the more than 5,700 University of Iowa undergraduate, graduate and professional students graduating this spring from the University of Iowa under extraordinary circumstances were:

Katerina Hazell of Fayetteville, Master of Fine Arts, Book Arts.

Chandler Pendleton of Greenwood, Master of Science, Biostatistics.

And Jacob Thompson of Fayetteville, Bachelor of Science in Engineering, Biomedical Engineering.

The UI, located in Iowa City, is known around the world as home to the first and best creative writing program in the world, a world-class academic medical center and one of America's top teaching hospitals.


Northern Michigan

Among students named to the Dean's List for the winter 2020 semester at Northern Michigan University in Marquette was Tucker Russell of Bentonville, who earned a 4.0 GPA.

Established in 1899, Northern Michigan University is a public university with an enrollment of about 8,000 undergraduate and graduate students.


Send school news to


Sponsor Content

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with the Democrat-Gazette commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. The Democrat-Gazette commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.