Today's Paper Latest Coronavirus Elections Cooking 🔵 Covid Classroom Families Core values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive

The Arkansas Department of Public Safety reported 10 deaths on roadways last week making the total for the year so far 16, the most of any year for the same time period in at least a decade, according to department data.

Among the deaths so far this year was Travis Flippo, 40, of Harrison, who jumped out of his 1971 Chevrolet as it was traveling north on Younes Drive in Harrison when the brakes failed, according to a report. The incident occurred Jan. 3 at 2:25 p.m., according to an Arkansas State Police report.

The vehicle subsequently struck two trees and two fence posts, before coming to a stop, the summary said.

Flippo was taken to Cox South Hospital in Springfield, Mo., where he was pronounced dead, according to the summary.

On Wednesday, Blytheville resident Barbara McCormick, 42, was killed about 9 p.m. when her 2019 Nissan Altima, traveling north on Arkansas 135, crossed the centerline near Poinsett County Road 87 at Rivervale, a summary said. The car then left the roadway, struck two utility pole guy-wires and then a tree before coming to a stop, according to the summary.

Also Wednesday, Alisa Jones, 47, of Thornton in Calhoun County died about 6:30 a.m. when the 2020 Hyundai Accent she was in failed to round a curve, a crash report said.

The driver Charles Jones, 51, also of Thornton was injured when the vehicle ran off the left side of the roadway while traveling east on Chambersville Road in Thornton and struck several trees, the summary said.

At 6:40 a.m. Wednesday, Gary Godwin, 60, of Story in Montgomery County was killed when his 2012 Chevrolet Malibu, traveling south on Arkansas 27N in Story, ran off the pavement on the east side and struck a tree, according to a summary.

Earlier Wednesday, at 12:03 a.m., pedestrian Kentrell Ivory, 24, of Springdale was struck by a truck as he ran across Interstate 30 in rural Miller County, according to a summary. The 2020 Kenworth truck was traveling east.

Ivory was pronounced dead at 1:38 a.m. by the Miller County coroner, the summary said.

On Thursday, another pedestrian was killed as he crossed a highway, this time about 6:30 a.m. at Bradford in White County.

Mark Sneed, 64, of Batesville was struck by a 2017 Chevrolet Cruze traveling east on Arkansas 87, according to a summary.

Sneed was taken to UAMS Medical Center in Little Rock where he was pronounced dead, the summary said.

Also Thursday, Jake Smith, 19, of Beebe was killed when a 2019 GMC Acadia driven by Neena Reed, 65, of Heber Springs crossed the centerline while traveling north on Arkansas 5 near Valley View Road in Rose Bud, according to a summary.

The Acadia struck a 2017 Chevrolet Malibu driven by Smith about 8:29 p.m. Injured were Malibu passengers 19-year-old Eli Sutherland, 18-year-old Gavin Hatch and 18-year-old McKay Jurges, all of Beebe, the summary said. Reed also was injured, the summary said.

On Friday, about 4 p.m., two drivers were killed in a crash on the bridge between Union and Calhoun counties at Calion.

A 2018 GMC Sierra driven by William Bradley, 21, of Hampton, traveling north on U.S. 167N crossed the centerline and struck a 2014 Chevrolet Express driven by Eric White, 44 of West Monroe, a summary said.

On Saturday, about 7:30 a.m. Sherry Wherry, 63, of Malvern, was killed when she lost control of her 2009 Pontiac G6 while traveling west on Arkansas 270 near Magnet Cove, a summary said.

Her vehicle struck a 2015 GMC Yukon head-on, according to the summary.

The driver of the Yukon, Erica Jones, 55, of Hot Springs, and a passenger Christopher Jones, 46, also of Hot Springs, were injured and taken to UAMS Medical Center in Little Rock.


Sponsor Content

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with the Democrat-Gazette commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. The Democrat-Gazette commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.