Today's Paper Latest Coronavirus Elections Cooking 🔵 Covid Classroom Families Core values Story ideas iPad Weather Newsletters Obits Puzzles Archive
story.lead_photo.caption Donald W. Reynolds Library & Technology Center, Philander Smith College (Arkansas Democrat-Gazette/Rachel O’Neal)

Fourteen Philander Smith College students were inducted into the Dr. Mary Louise Williams Collegiate Club chapter of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs during a Dec. 11 ceremony.

The induction, held virtually, is the second induction of the newly formed chapter.

Gallery: Dr. Mary Louise Williams Collegiate Club

[Gallery not loading above? Click here for more photos »]

With the motto "Lifting as we climb," the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs was formed in July 1896 and one of its founders was Harriet Tubman. Williams, the namesake of the Little Rock organization, is a noted educator, political leader, Arkansas Black Hall of Fame inductee and a Frances Harper Charity Club member.

Sadie Jones was inducted as president of the club in 2019. New inductees are Heaven Clary, Nyejah Lee, Jordyn Jones, J'Nya Thompson, Gabrielle Batiste, Mikyla Jackson-Jordan, Jakayla Shurm, Brae'zah East, Kristialyn Anderson, Christy Bell, Ti'Anna Keith, Antoinette Elion, Kayundra Braggs and Ashley Howell.

-- Story and photos by Rachel O'Neal


Sponsor Content

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with the Democrat-Gazette commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. The Democrat-Gazette commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.